First, an apology – we’ve had some site-wide downtime and snafus when we needed to switch web hosts this weekend. We are sorry for any inconvenience, and will be posting extra recipes this week to make up for it.
Meanwhile, there’s about a month before Passover. Are you stocking up? Remember that many foods that are “kfp” or Kosher for Passover are also safe for a wide variety of allergens. During Passover, most Jews avoid wheat, soy, and corn, in addition to leavening, though some food has matzoh. You want to look for Kosher for Passover labeling (get your corn-free Coke!) and the words “non-gebrokts”, which means there is no matzoh.
We’ll be posting a review soon of Susie Fishbein’s fabulous cookbook Passover by Design, which includes 160 recipes, of which 130 are non-gebrokts, and many of the remaining 30 can be easily adapted to be gluten-free, if not safe for Passover. As a bonus, most of the recipes are also dairy-free, and there’s even a gluten-free, soy-free, passover-safe teriyaki sauce! That’s worth the price of the book in and of itself!